Got-Beds
     [More info.] | [Write a review] | [Send to printer] | [Close window]

[View HI reviews] | [View LO reviews]
 Value for Money  4.8
 Rooms  4.5
 Cleanliness  4.5
 Location  4.5
 Security & Safety  4.5
 Service & Staff  5.0
 Food / Dining  4.8
 Total  4.6

"Great place"

User Rating:  4.1
Reviewer:   Fabrice J. of Dunkerque, France
Reviewed:   August 23, 2009  (see hostel reviews from Hosteltraveler.com)
Traveled:   August 2009     Type:   Other
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Very good location in ShangHai, so quiet and typical area but central too.
Any place of ShangHai is very easy to reach from there
Staff is very welcoming, smily and always ready to help.
Nice common room with free internet and a straight access to the yard. In this room you always meet travellers with this spirit of sharing. Best place to meet people. One thing that I enjoyed a little less. Rooms are clean but just enough. This is not a palace and you always remember it.
We greatly enjoyed ou stay in this hostel we had (nearly) everything we expected, good and smily staff, great location, "family" atmosphere with other travellers

"Sleeping Dragon - whats the Chinese name?"

User Rating:  5.0
Reviewer:   Bettina M. of vienna, Austria
Reviewed:   November 24, 2008  (see hostel reviews from Bedbreakfastreservations.com)
Traveled:   November 2008     Type:   Other
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Hi Sleeping Dragon,
please put the Chinese name and address on the webpage, that we can tell taxi drivers how to find it again.

A great place to stay, extremely friendly and cooperating staff! The house will be beautiful, once renovation is completed - I'd suggest an elevator. We had a room with a 'balcony' for smokers - I'd suggest to keep it and renovate it a little. It is very useful.
The yard coud be equipped with some garden furniture to sit in the sun/shadow and have a cup of tea or a cool beer.
We also liked the district a lot, we can only hope that the Shanghai city government thinks the same: street market, excellent seafood (oysters!)till 2 a.m., small houses, busy streets - the old Jewish refugee quarter.

The hostel is close to the subway, there are many bus lines - an adventure taking them. A friendly gentleman gave us a lift to the airport.

P.S.: Where did you get those nice bedsheets?

"You should definitely step off in this hostel!"

User Rating:  4.7
Reviewer:   María C. of Zaragoza, Spain
Reviewed:   September 19, 2008  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   August 2008     Type:   Youth/Student
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Great experience here.
They can speak English. Very nice staff who are always available for everything you need. Bedrooms and bathrooms fully-equipped and very clean. You can join them for breakfast/lunch/dinner whenever you want so you can taste the real Chinese food! (the cook doesn't speak English but she's very nice)
Very close to subway station Linping Road and not far from Pudong and the Bund. Surroundings very typical Chinese, at around 10-11 p.m. you can eat street food from the places nearby the hostel, delicious!
You won't regret staying in Sleeping Dragon International Hostel :)

"Great experience"

User Rating:  4.7
Reviewer:   Thomas M. of Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed:   August 26, 2008  (see hostel reviews from Hosteltraveler.com)
Traveled:   July 2008     Type:   Active/Adventure
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Stayed for a week - only 5 minutes from the nearest underground, this hostel is a newly renovated 1924 European House, situated in one of the most colorful Chinese neighborhoods. Service was impeccable with all staff speaking excellent English, nothing is too much to ask, helpful info about town, what to see how and where to go, translation is offered, good individually cooked food, great common room for meeting other travellers. Will definitely return here!


1 - 4 of 4 reviews




Got-Beds Links:    Top of page  |   Home  |   Support  |   More Hostel Reviews  |   Write a Hostel Review  |   Suggest Hostels  |   Search Hostels  |   Guest Sign–in  |   Subscribe to Newsletter  |   Unsubscribe
Using our Services:    Terms & Conditions  |   Privacy & Security Policy  |   Work with Us  |   Add Your Hostel  |   Link to Us