Got-Beds
     [More info.] | [Write a review] | [Send to printer] | [Close window]

[View HI reviews] | [View LO reviews]
 Value for Money  3.0
 Rooms  2.8
 Cleanliness  3.2
 Location  3.3
 Security & Safety  3.2
 Service & Staff  3.0
 Food / Dining  2.9
 Total  3.1

"Pekinguni hostel as last minute option"

User Rating:  2.5
Reviewer:   Gelato L. of Milan, Italy
Reviewed:   September 19, 2011  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   March 2011     Type:   Other
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Pekinguni hostel is good as a last minute option if you need to book a cheap sleeping place before your arrival in the city (I arrived late at night and I wanted to have a place to go immediately after leaving the airport). I stayed in the 8-bed room and I haven't seen any of the other rooms so my opinion is only about this kind of room, the cheapest one, which I needed for only one night.
Besides the typically Chinese eternally wet floors in the hallways, the 8-bed rooms are crowded with students who actually live there. This means no place for your luggage. Besides this the room was quiet and with the students leaving early in the morning I had all the silence I needed to rest after my 20 hours trip from Europe to Beijing.
Still, I don't recommend it for more than one night.

"good experience at BJuni hostel"

User Rating:  3.9
Reviewer:   Meng W. of sydney, Australia
Reviewed:   July 30, 2011  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   July 2011     Type:   Active/Adventure
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
excellent experience there. mostly students came from all sides of china, who has dreams and keen to find their role in the capital city.
staff r friendly, location is nxt to one of the most famous student town. brilliant experience for me.

the only thing i didn't like abt the place, is its 12 o'clock lights off policy for the common room, i guess it works well for some others.

"Great location, functional accommodations"

User Rating:  3.9
Reviewer:   Christina L. of Portland, United States
Reviewed:   June 29, 2010  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   June 2010     Type:   Youth/Student
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
I was visiting a friend who was studying abroad, so I was pleased to find a hostel so nearby her campus. There is also a grocery store just downstairs, which was very useful.

I was only there for a few days, so I didn't get to use everything that was made available. There was a decent-looking kitchen space that I never entered, and working TVs in the lounge that I never used. The lounge was nice, with couches, benches, and one power strip with universal outlets. The Wifi was good in the lounge, and only a little spottier in my room.

I was in a 8-bed dorm with a few other girls. The beds are rock-hard, but that seems to be par for the course for China. There are individual wooden lockers that fit my purse and my large backpack, but I think you need to bring your own padlock.

The bathrooms are passable. There are separate toilet and shower areas. The women's toilets are two squat-toilets and one Western-style; none have toilet paper, so bring your own. The showers fluctuate wildly in temperature, and there are only four of them so sometimes there was a line. The shower area was not very well-lit, and every surface was wet (even outside the actual shower room). So I found that things like putting contacts in, doing makeup, etc. was better suited to the bedroom than the showers.

The front desk was helpful, friendly, and English-speaking. They also sell snacks and drinks in case you find yourself without drinking water after the grocery stores have closed.

Oh yeah, and it was ridiculously cheap (like everything in China, it seems). Well worth the money.

"good as a temporary base"

User Rating:  4.2
Reviewer:   R T. of England, United Kingdom
Reviewed:   October 13, 2009  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   October 2009     Type:   Youth/Student
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
we were a group of 4 students studying chinese just staying for 4 days in first the 8 and then 6 man dorm. although the receptioin girls didnt speak english, we managed to get by. the beds are rock solid but surprisingly comfortable after a while. you get clean bedding n pillow. bring a padlock as you get ur own cupboard thing in the dorm. bathroom seems to be shared between everyone but we never had a problem waiting for showers or anything. there is copious hot water :) the shared toilets are chinese style with one western at the end. a brilliant location - v near wudaokou subway station and surrounded by loads of restaurants / bars / shops. albeit we only really used it to sleep in, it was brilliant!

"Not very good...."

User Rating:  2.5
Reviewer:   Giordano D. of Montesilvano, Italy
Reviewed:   August 28, 2009  (see hostel reviews from Pilgrimreservations.com)
Traveled:   March 2009     Type:   Single
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
I slept on this hostel from 03th to 13th. 10 nights, and i have this ipinion about...
i'm italian, and in italy i use slep to comfortable bed, and this was.....so hard ! ehhehehe sincery:
Comfortable: dont think that's very comfortable, u can slep here, but only sleep ! not do others.
Kitchen Room: seems a horror's movie! REALLY! i cooked only one day and was very very DIRTY!
Staff: begin the staff was friendly, but after happened one thing.i booked until 13th, and i leaved hostel on 13th about 14.00am, and they asked me money for another night...also 13th night, i thought wrong, i didnt remember that i had leave hostel until 11.00am. Ok i did a mistaked, but i stay in this hostel only 3 hours after 11.00am, after i paid 180 yuen and i leave hostel without sleep over there.
And the boss sometimes is rude, expecially one time with mine gf.
I want say the last thing: after this experience i lived to hotel in Shang Di Xi Li, this hotel is near the entrance to Shang Di, and ober there you can pay 150 yuan for a room with 2 beds! bye!

"Uncooperative staff, poor room conditions, and overinflated prices"

User Rating:  2.1
Reviewer:   Jeannetta C. of Boston, United States
Reviewed:   October 6, 2008  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   September 2008     Type:   Youth/Student
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
My brief stay at Peking University Hostel was fortunately, my only negative experience in China. Whether asking the staff for assistance with use of the phone, or inquiring about a safety deposit box, they were usually unhelpful, and often rude. Even though they do speak English quite well, they fail to use it in a manner that reflects any amount of hospitality or competency.

The rooms were decent and generally clean but there is a faint order (probably coming from a nearby food court) that lingers in the halls of the enter place. The beds were uncomfortable but bearable. The showers and toilet were not as clean as I expected. Keep in mind that there are many Peking University/Tsinghua Students living in the hostel so you may be sharing the room with food, school books, and the entire contents of one's life, which can make living in the dorm-style crowded and uncomfortable.

They also charge higher prices that what they provide. Note: They are not the only "hostel" in the Haidian district, there are other places, including Beijing Center for Language Studies (BLCU), that offer single, private, clean rooms at great prices.

User Rating:  2.0
Reviewer:   Pavel S. of Brno, Czech Republic
Reviewed:   August 14, 2008  (see hostel reviews from Hosteltraveler.com)
Traveled:   June 2008     Type:   Youth/Student
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining

"convenient but not that friendly"

User Rating:  2.3
Reviewer:   Alice M. of Paris, France
Reviewed:   June 22, 2008  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   June 2008     Type:   Youth/Student
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
convenient because close to the subway station and to restaurants/supermarkets. Rooms ok. Staff not that friendly (wake me up in the evening because they made a mistake and I should pay 2 yuans more...), and don't know very well the city for advices.

"Value for money"

User Rating:  4.4
Reviewer:   Monis A. of New Delhi, India
Reviewed:   March 7, 2008  (see hostel reviews from Hosteltraveler.com)
Traveled:   February 2008     Type:   Youth/Student
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
I liked the place. The best part of this hostel is its proximity to the subway station, the shopping centers and restaurants. The staff is very friendly too.


1 - 9 of 9 reviews




Got-Beds Links:    Top of page  |   Home  |   Support  |   More Hostel Reviews  |   Write a Hostel Review  |   Suggest Hostels  |   Search Hostels  |   Guest Sign–in  |   Subscribe to Newsletter  |   Unsubscribe
Using our Services:    Terms & Conditions  |   Privacy & Security Policy  |   Work with Us  |   Add Your Hostel  |   Link to Us